top of page

Not Yours, Mine, by Rachel McMurray at Oldham Coliseum

‘Not Yours, Mine’ is the story of a young man called Adam. Adam lives at home with his agoraphobic mother Joyce. His girlfriend Kate has fallen pregnant but following a breakdown of their relationship is refusing Adam access. With an incomprehensible judicial system, his mother’s obsessive Amazon orders, and an unwavering ex-girlfriend, Adam is at a cluttered and confusing standpoint.


As a writer I am largely self-taught and often work through trial and error. However, when I came up with the concept for ‘Not Yours, Mine’, I was very aware of the gravity of the topic and my desire to tell the story ‘right’.


So, I decided to sign up for the WriteForTheStage Advanced course back in September 2018.


Going into the course, I was very clear on the story I wanted to write. I just wasn’t sure how to go about it. The course offered me a place to explore, and structure my ideas into the play that is now ‘Not Yours, Mine’. Through a variety of exercises and understanding theory, I began to create a piece which uses naturalistic language but is supported by stylised movement and, at times, spoken word.


In February, under my theatre company Fine Comb Theatre, we carried out a week long Arts Council Funded R&D of the script. It allowed me to play with form and text. Mike was kind enough to come to the invited sharing of the R&D and helped support me in deciding what edits needed to be made to get the piece to where it currently is.


As a company, we were then extremely fortunate to receive further Arts Council Funding to bring the show to Oldham Coliseum Studio Theatre for a four night run in June (1/4/6/7). We are currently in the rehearsal period and as both writer and director, it has been really important for me to walk into the space with a script I felt confident in working with. This most likely would not have happened had I not completed the WriteForTheStage course.


‘Not Yours, Mine’ is show that aims to provoke thought and stimulate conversation. It explores the family court system and encourages audiences to consider its structure. It is a show which combines naturalistic dialogue with stylised movement and abstract mise-en-scene. ‘Not Yours, Mine’ covers a wider journey of struggle, self-destruction, class and complex relationships.


I am extremely excited to see the show comes to life on the Coliseum stage and look forward to seeing what conversation it stimulates.


Dates: 1st, 4th, 6th, 7th June

Time: 7:30pm

Location: Oldham Coliseum Studio

Price: £8 (£7 Concession)

Ticket Link: http://www.coliseum.org.uk/plays/not-yours-mine/

18 views0 comments
bottom of page